Five available Elected Members from a pool of the following 13 Members (members of the Planning Committee): Councillors Jim Roberts (Chair), Gordon Jenkins, Ellen Freel, Tom Cook, Clare Maitland, Jim Todd, George Mair, Neil McGhee, Billy Crawford, John Bell and Drew Filson.

NB: Whilst five Members will initially be sought to populate each Local Review Body meeting, to comply with legislation the quorum will be three members. Individual Review Bodies may proceed if a quorum is secured.

Chair of the Local Review Body shall be the Chair of the Planning Committee (Councillor Jim Roberts) and in his absence, one of two other Members from the pool:  Councillors John McFadzean and Billy Crawford.

Terms of reference and delegated authority

In relation to Local Development planning applications as specified in the Planning Etc (Scotland) Act 2006 to review and determine:-

(i) appeals against decisions by Officers to refuse planning permissions;

(ii) appeals against conditions set by Officers in respect of a planning permission; and

(iii) failure by Officers to make a decision in respect of a planning application within the statutory timescale.

To give notice of their decision to all relevant parties as detailed in the Town and Country Planning (Scheme of Delegation and Local Review Procedure) (Scotland) Regulations 2008.

Authority and administrative procedures

The Town and Country Planning (Scheme of Delegation and Local Review Procedure) (Scotland) Regulations 2013 make provision for the establishment of the Local Review Body. The Local Review Body shall produce and keep under review administrative procedures, which shall be informed by the above-mentioned regulations.


Contact Information

Democratic Services Admin
Council Headquarters
London Road
East Ayrshire