Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates

Elections and voting

2021 Scottish Parliamentary Elections

The Scottish Parliamentary Elections will be held on Thursday 6 May 2021.

For this election, East Ayrshire Council are responsible for both the Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley and the Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley Constituencies.

Nominations have now closed and the following people have been nominated to stand for election.

Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley Constituency

Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley Constituency

  • Willie Coffey, Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Stef Johnstone, Scottish Libertarian Party
  • Kevin McGregor, Scottish Labour Party and Scottish Co-Operative Party
  • Stephen McQuistin, Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Brian Whittle, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Further information can be found on the Statement of Persons Nominated and Notice of Poll (PDF 10Kb) and Notice of Election Agents (PDF 14Kb)

South of Scotland Constituency

Polling places

Information on polling places can be found in the polling schemes:

Information for candidates

Nomination packs, guidance and information for submitting nominations

‘Don’t lose your voice at future elections’

Have you considered applying for a postal vote for the 2021 Scottish Parliamentary election? Or are you thinking about postal voting at future elections?

The future is uncertain and public health challenges related to COVID-19 may prevent you from attending a polling station in person. To make sure you can still vote, why not request a postal vote application form when you respond to our canvass communication or ask for one by emailing the Electoral Registration Office at​

Important closing dates

  • Apply for a postal vote before 5pm on Tuesday 6 April 2021
  • Register to vote before midnight on Monday 19 April 2021 
  • Apply for a proxy vote before 5pm on Tuesday 27 April 2021

Frequently asked questions

Frequently asked questions about elections and voting.

What to expect when voting in person


How to vote at the Scottish Parliament election

Voting in elections

There is now a rolling registration, which means the electoral register is updated every month, however, registration has changed to individual registration.

So, if you've moved house or have been missed from the register, you can get your new details added much quicker, and you can also register online. To register online please go to The local Register of Electors can be checked in your local library, at Council Headquarters, or you can contact the Electoral Registration Office (Ayrshire Valuation Joint Board) to check.

Once you've registered you can choose to vote by proxy or by post.

Proxy votes

A proxy vote can be granted to anyone who satisfies the local registration officer that he or she cannot reasonably be expected to vote in person on polling day.  Examples include those on holiday, those who are ill or in hospital, people away on business and people who have moved house but have not had time to register at their new address and are therefore still on the register at their old address. Proxies may vote by post if they want to.

Postal votes

Postal votes can be set up on a permanent basis, or as a one-off in advance of any election.

Registration forms

To be registered to vote you must be:

  • resident or deemed resident in the registration area
  • a British, other Commonwealth, Irish, European Union citizen or Foreign National.
  • aged 14 or over,
  • not subject to any legal incapacity.

You can use the online registration service at  to register to vote. You can contact the Electoral Registration Office at Ayrshire Valuation Joint Board 01292 612221 they can take your details over the telephone and get you registered.

You can vote in Scottish Parliament and local government elections as soon as you are 16 years old.  Once you are 18 you can vote in Westminster Parliamentary elections too if you are a British or Commonwealth citizen.  If you are not a British or Commonwealth citizen you are not entitled to vote in Westminster Parliamentary elections.

You can download registration forms for the electoral register, proxy votes and postal votes via Ayrshire Valuation Joint Board's website .

Forms should be printed, completed and returned to Ayrshire Valuation Joint Board.

For more information contact the Ayrshire Valuation Joint Board.

Contact Information

Ayrshire Valuation Joint Board
9 Wellington Square
South Ayrshire
Telephone: 01292 612221
Election Services
Telephone: 01563 576555