Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates

School holidays

The tables below list school holidays and in-service days for the 2020-21 school year.

Please note that all dates are inclusive.

Additional in-service days for secondary schools

To facilitate with the amount of assessment and the moderation of the provisional grades, the Depute First Minister advised that each authority would be granted two additional in-service days for secondary staff to undertake these duties.

These in-service days have been approved as Tuesday 1 June and Wednesday 2 June 2021, following our May assessment blocks across East Ayrshire.

The additional in-service days apply to secondary schools only. Secondary schools will reopen to all pupils on Thursday 3 June 2021.

Download and print school holidays

You can also download and print the following school holidays:

First term

First term holidays
HolidayDates
In-service day Tuesday 11 August 2020
Pupils return Wednesday 12 August 2020
***Holiday Thursday 17 September 2020
*Local holiday Friday 18 September 2020
*Local holiday Monday 21 September 2020
Pupils return Tuesday 22 September 2020
Close Friday 9 October 2020
October holidays Monday 12 October to Friday 16 October 2020
In-service day Monday 19 October 2020
Pupils return Tuesday 20 October 2020
***Close Friday 18 December 2020
Christmas and New Year holidays Monday 21 December 2020 to Tuesday 5 January 2021

Second term

Second term holidays
HolidayDates
Pupils return Wednesday 6 January 2021
Close Friday 12 February 2021
Local holiday Monday 15 February 2021
In-service day Tuesday 16 February 2021
In-service day Wednesday 17 February 2021
Pupils return Thursday 18 February 2021
Close Thursday 1 April 2021
Easter holidays Friday 2 April to Friday 16 April 2021

Third term

Third Term Holidays
HolidayDates
Pupils return Monday 19 April 2021
Local holiday - May Day Monday 3 May 2021
Pupils return Tuesday 4 May 2021
**In-service day Thursday 6 May 2021
Pupils return Friday 7 May 2021
Local holiday Monday 31 May 2021
Pupils return Tuesday 1 June 2021
Close Friday 25 June 2021
Summer holidays Monday 28 June to Wednesday 18 August 2021

School holidays 2021-22

  • In-service day - Tuesday 17 August 2021
  • In-service day - Wednesday 18 August 2021
  • Pupils return - Thursday 19 August 2021

Notes

*     Subject to change in alignment with Gold Cup weekend
**    Parliamentary election
***   Additional days agreed following consultation as a result of COVID-19

Contact Information

Education Service
Council Headquarters
London Road
Kilmarnock
KA3 7BU
Telephone: 01563 576140
Parental Enquiries: 07392 864105