Skip to content

Chief Officers' salaries are set by reference to national arrangements. 

The Scottish Joint Negotiating Committee (SJNC) for Local Authority Services sets the salaries for the Chief Executives of Scottish local authorities. Industrial Relations Circular 11-23b details the amount of salary for the Chief Executive and Chief Officers of East Ayrshire Council for the period 1 April 2023 to 31 March 2024. 

East Ayrshire Council does not pay bonuses or performance related pay. Chief Officers are entitled to be reimbursed for business travel and other business related costs in accordance with amounts agreed nationally by the Scottish Joint Negotiating Committee for Local Authorities Services, or as approved locally by the Council.

Chief Officers are eligible to join the Local Government Pension Scheme.

NameDesignationAnnual Salary
E Fraser Chief Executive £154,609
R Grieveson Depute Chief Executive £133,374
C McArthur Depute Chief Executive and Director of Health and Social Care £133,374
D Mitchell Chief Governance Officer £111,929
L McAulay-Griffiths Chief Education Officer and Head of Education £111,929
J McLachlan Chief Financial Officer and Head of Finance and ICT £111,929
M MacAulay Chief Social Work Officer and Head of Children's Health, Care and Justice Services £111,929
B Millar Head of Housing and Communities £99,064
D McDowall Head of Economic Growth £99,064
A Lowe Head of People and Culture £99,064
J Corrie Head of Ayrshire Roads Alliance £99,064
A Kennedy Head of Facilities and Property Management £99,064
E Sutherland Head of Locality Health and Care Services £99,064
I Tough Head of Corporate Support £99,064

Contact Information

Council Headquarters
London Road
East Ayrshire
Contact us online:
Save time, do it online:
Telephone: 01563 554400
Textphone: 01563 576167
24 Hour Emergency Helpline(local rate): 0345 724 0000