New MSYPs celebrate after election

New MSYPsThree local young people celebrated success this week, after battling it out in a bid to get elected to the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP).

Chief Executive Fiona Lees announced the successful candidates after the final count.

Two young people were selected as Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs) for Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley – Kyle Brown (19) from Crosshouse and Ewan McColl (17) from Kilmaurs; while in Cumnock Kaitlyn Moran (16) from Mauchline will represent Cumnock and Doon Valley.

Kyle is committed to campaigning for equal gender rights both in terms of equal pay for men and women and also ensuring that divorcing parents can secure equal custody of their children.

Ewan, a pupil at Stewarton Academy, who has been involved in the Westminster Campaign to secure the voting rights for 16 year olds, has pledged to launch a Saturday job database to help young people find the work experience they need to pursue their chosen careers.

Kaitlyn, who is an Auchinleck Academy pupil, is focused on improving the life of her peers by identifying their needs and helping to create positive change within her community.

The MSYPs will take over in June from the standing MSYPs and will hold the post for two years to represent the views of young people in East Ayrshire.

For more information on the Scottish Youth Parliament go to or contact Kevin Wells on 01563 576354.

rating button