Athletic talent celebrated with sporting awards

East Ayrshire’s wealth of talented young athletes, sports clubs and volunteers was celebrated at the annual Sports Council and Talented Athlete Awards Evening 2019.

East Ayrshire Council’s Talented Athlete Support Programme supported a record 97 athletes this year, all of whom have been awarded Developing Potential or Special Olympic Support.

Every athlete at the ceremony is either  a National or International Champion or has represented their country in their chosen sport.

One of the most encouraging aspects of  the ceremony was the variety of sports represented. It highlighted the diverse range of talented individuals, who have each achieved success through the last year thanks to the support of their coaches and clubs, together with  their own hard work, determination and commitment.

Amongst the winners were a national skateboarding champion, a Winter Olympian and three Special Olympians.

Joan O’Sullivan, Chair of East Ayrshire Sports Council added: “As always, this has been a truly inspiring event. I am incredibly proud of how much success our athletes gain and bring back to East Ayrshire.

“For a small area we really do have some amazing talented athletes, clubs and volunteers who all ensure that sport in East Ayrshire is thriving.”

In addition to a host of personal recognition accolades, the following main awards were presented:

  • Disabled Sportsperson of the Year 2019 – David & Daniel McLaughlin
  • Jim Higgins Youth Sport Personality of the Year 2019 – Michael Duff
  • SALSC Service to Sport 2019 – Ron Robertson
  • Individual Performance of the Year 2019 – Eve Watt
  • Team Performance of the Year 2019 – Hurlford Boys Club
  • Inspiring Females in Sport Award 2019 – Mhari Lindsay
  • East Ayrshire Sports Council Club of the Year 2019 – Dean Thistle Football Club


For more information about the Talented Athlete Support Programme or the East Ayrshire Sports Council please contact Steven Mair at





rating button