Sports Council

East Ayrshire Sports Council was formed in 1996 and is funded by East Ayrshire Council. It promotes the development of sport by supporting and advising local voluntary sports clubs, promoting joint work between member clubs and organisations and ensuring best practice and standards.

The Sports Council aims to:

  • promote and develop interest and participation in sport
  • co-ordinate the work of clubs and organisations
  • promote/support competitions, championships and social events
  • assist clubs, organisations or individuals to arrange courses for the improvement of personal performance or training of coaches/referees
  • assist in formation of sports clubs/organisations
  • distribute information on local sports clubs, organisations, activities and facilities
  • foster sports for people with special needs by promoting equality of opportunity

Sports council affiliation

Sports clubs and organisations can affiliate to the Sports Council for a period of a year for £30 (eligible for grant aid funding) and £15 (ineligible for grant aid funding).

Only voluntary run sports clubs with a sport specific focus and involvement in sports participation and competition are eligible for grant aid and 30% facility discounts. However, all other sports-minded organisations are welcome to affiliate so they can benefit from updates and training and forge links with the sporting community.

Benefits of affiliation

The Sports Council supports clubs with a range of opportunities and initiatives including:

  • grant funding*
  • external funding opportunities
  • training for club volunteers
  • coach education courses and development
  • support to develop/implement policies and procedures
  • child protection guidelines
  • representation at national forums
  • newsletters and other updates
  • nomination of club members for Sports Council awards
  • advertising in our sports directory

* only sports clubs and not organisations

Affiliated sports clubs

Club/OrganisationContact NameContact Email
 Darvel Victoria AFC  Martin McAvoy  martin.mcavoyuk@issworld.co.uk
 Garnock Hockey Club  Eryn Heywood  Please contact Sports Council
 Kilmarnock Bowling Club  Andrew King  andycking@hotmail.com
 Kilmarnock Cricket Club  Alistair Smith  asmith78@caledonian.ac.uk
 Kilmarnock Leisure Education Association  Organisation  josephineorr5@yahoo.co.uk
 Kofukan Karate Do  Douglas Munro  douglas349@btinternet.com
 Stewarton Annick FC  Greg Thomson  greg_safc@yahoo.co.uk
 Stewarton Tennis Club  Isabel Mackie  stewartontennis@gmail.com
 Auchinleck Indoor Bowling Club  Mary Ferguson  mary@laurelcot.co.uk
 Auchinleck Talbot 2003  Scott Mullen  scottrobertmullen@hotmail.com
 Auchinleck Talbot 2007  Kenneth Blackmore  kenneth_blackmore@sky.com
 Auchinleck Talbot Under 19's  Sean Connelly  s.connelly1974@sky.com
 Auchinleck Talbot Youth Academy  Kenneth Blackmore  kenneth_blackmore@sky.com
 Ayrshire Acro  Gemma Thomson  gemthomson80@outlook.com
 Ayrshire Flyers Speed Skating Club  Pamela MacKay  ickle_pam@yahoo.co.uk
 Ballochmyle Golf Club  Andrew Harrow  ballochmyle.secretary@ballochmylegolfclub.com
 Bellfield Youth FC  Alex Smith  byfcsecy@aol.com
 Caprington Junior Golf Club  Willie McCulloch  williemcculloch@hotmail.co.uk
 Cluarankwai Judo Club  Paul McClarty  paulo47@live.com
 Crosshouse Boys Club FC  Scott Campbell  scottc995@gmail.com
 Cumnock & Doon Valley Sub Aqua Club  James Williamson  coila123@aol.com
 Cumnock Dolphin Swimming Club  Sheena McGarva  amcgarva@aol.com
 Darvel Juniors FC  Alex Smith  aalexlyn@aol.com
 Drongan Grassroots Development Centre  Linda McDonald  lindamcdon@yahoo.co.uk
 Drongan United FC  Robin Wemyss  robin.wemyss@yahoo.co.uk
 East Ayrshire Car Club  Roxanna Robertson  roxy@eastayrshirecc.co.uk
 Galston Lau Gar Kung Fu Club  Craig Foster  craig@handv.co.uk
 Galston United FC  Graham Mair  graham.mair@ayrshirefa.co.uk
 Galston Youth FC  Hugh McNellie  hughk@sky.com
 Hurlford Badminton Club  Billy Fulton  billy_tours@yahoo.co.uk
 Hurlford Thistle Amateur Football Club  Billy Fulton  billy.64@btinternet.com
 Irvine Valley Swimming Club  Fiona Hamilton  fiona.hamilton2@btinternet.com
 Kilmarnock & Loudoun Shotokan Karate Club  Matt McLaughlin  mclaughlinhome@sky.com
 Kilmarnock Acro Gymnastics Club  Laura McClymont  kilmarnock.acro@outlook.com
 Kilmarnock Amateur Swim Club  Sylvia Robertson  rsrobertson@talktalk.net
 Loudoun Gowf Club Junior Section  James Davidson  secy@loudoungowfclub.co.uk
 Muirkirk Juniors FC  Billy Tait  billy@taitb.fsnet.co.uk
 Neptune Amateur Swim Club  Elaine Taylor  tayloria@sky.com
 New Farm Loch AFC  Paula Ralston  paularalston1983@gmail.com
 North West Archery Club  Lee McLean  leejmclean@msn.com
 North West Walking Football Club  Bill Stewart  billstewart12@hotmail.com
 Phoenix Taekwondo  Scott McMillan  scottm1005@gmail.com
 Portland Bowling Club  Roland Stroud  roland@rolandstroud.plus.com
 Riccarton Bowling Club  Stuart Christie  Please contact Sports Council
 Rosebank United 2002  Margaret Milligan  milligan838@aol.com
 Senjokai Karate Academy  Liam Gallagher  senjokaikarate@gmail.com
 Shortlees Amateur FC  John Shewright  john.sivewright@sky.com
 Sport Karate Sakai  David Coultar  davidcoultar@sakai.freeserve.co.uk
 Stewarton Junior Netball Club  Nicola Wilson  nawilson76@gmail.com
 Stewarton United FC  Jamie McAteer  jamiemcateer1405
 The Galleon Centre  David Carey  davidc@galleoncentre.com
 United KIngdom Tae Kwon-Do Council  Steven Murphy  steve47450@gmail.com
 Valspar United 2005's FC  Cheryl Wilson  cherylw38@tiscali.co.uk
 

 

Contact Information

Vibrant Communities
Telephone: 01563 576354
Telephone: 01563 578104
rating button